News & Updates

Erin Berry Fund Applications

We are currently accepting applications for Erin Berry Fund Grants, until June 30th.
The Erin Berry Fund disburses a portion of the fund each year to assist junior players with the expenses associated with attending bridge events. To read more about the Erin Berry fund, go to our Erin Berry page.
For more information please contact us at

June issue of Bridge Canada is now available

Get to know Bridge Canada, the online magazine of the CBF.
IMPs, neither vulnerable, you hold these cards: ♠2 AQ109842 3 10975. The opponent on your left opens 1, partner passes, and the responder bids 3, showing 5+ diamonds, heart shortage, and game forcing values. What do you bid? Find out in the Intermediate Spot, found in this issue. Whatever your level, you will find informative and interesting articles.
You can access the magazine through the top menu or the red tab on the left side of this page.

The Great Canadian Bidding Contest: August 2022 Problems

For the June problems, Richard Bickley led all readers with 47 out of 50, followed by Fred Lerner with 44. The top expert was Zygmunt Marcinski with a score of 49, followed by Ron Bishop with 48. See the panelists’ answers and explanations to the last problems in the current issue of Bridge Canada magazine. Welcome to a new panelist: Mike Hargreaves.
You may enter to win cash prizes by sending your choices for the August problems to, by July 12th. Have fun!

Next Canada Wide Game on BBO on July 16

Our July monthly Canada wide virtual BBO game will be held on Saturday July 16.
– “CBF 499 Game” $5 for 20 Boards – 1:00pm EDT
– “CBF Open Game” $6 for 24 Boards – 1:15pm EDT
This monthly game for CBF members is held on the Saturday of the 3rd weekend of the month. Thank you for supporting Canadian Bridge and have fun!
Results of previous games here.
Continue reading for more information and registration instructions.

Congratulations to the winners of the Canadian Championships

Congratulations to the winners of all the events:

  • CNTC A – Marc-André Fourcaudot, Kamel Fergani, Nicholas Gartaganis, Michel Lorber, Nicolas L’Écuyer, Zygmunt Marcinski
  • CNTC B – Alex Heron, Paul Erikson, Laurie Shapka, Ian Gatenby
  • CNTC C – John Hindle, Jeff Gosman, Dave West, Brian Macri
  • CWTC – Lucy He, Xia Hong, Xiufang Jia, Yanping Zhang, Wenmin Chen
  • CMTC – Marc-André Fourcaudot, Sondra Blank, Louise Berthiaume, Kamel Fergani, Judith Gartaganis, Nicholas Gartaganis
  • CSTC – Robert Kuz, William Treble, Barry Senensky, Jordan Cohen, Stephen Cooper, Morrie Kleinplatz
  • COPC – Terry Du, Kole Meng
  • CIPC – Mark Caplan, Eiji Kujirai

Read more for the winners and the medalists of the Canadian Championships.