The Richmond Trophy is awarded annually to Canada’s top masterpoint winner. The trophy was donated by Dave G. Richmond in 1976 and awarded retroactively to the 1974 and 1975 winners.

Dave Richmond was a well-known Winnipeg bridge figure. He was elected treasurer of the Winnipeg Bridge Club in 1951, became Winnipeg’s 2nd Life Master in 1958 and in the same year assumed the Presidency of the Manitoba Unit 181. Under his leadership the unit flourished and grew from about 80 members to over 500 members. He sponsored Saskatchewan’s entry into District 14 and also helped Thunder Bay become a full fledged member in the District. He served two three-year terms as President of District 14 and was second alternate of District 14 for six years.

Richmond was a registered Life Member of the National Goodwill Committee of the ACBL and a member of the Board of Governors of the ACBL for District 2. Richmond’s greatest concern was for the charity aspect of the ACBL and he claimed that he derived the most satisfaction when he and his committee brought the Charity Shield to the Manitoba Unit for the first time in District 14. The Charity Shield came to the Manitoba unit two years later for a repeat performance.

Richmond and his charming wife Nettie chaired four Regionals and hundreds of bridge players admired their dedication and attention to every detail to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of all the players.

Richmond Trophy, Canadian Bridge Federation

Click Here for Current Standings


Click on a highlighted year to access the race archives for that year.

2023 Richard Chan, Markham, ON 1 524
2022 Richard Chan, Markham, ON 1,580
2021 Mel Norton, Burlington, ON 1,214
2020 Mel Norton, Burlington, ON 1,011
2019 David Grainger, Etobicoke, ON 1,610
2018 David Grainger, Etobicoke, ON 1,606
2017 Shan Huang, Melbourne, FL 2,252
2016 David Grainger, Etobicoke ON 2,462
2015 Daniel Korbel, Hamilton ON 2,372
2014 Shan Huang, Toronto ON 1,589
2013 Shan Huang, Toronto ON 1,377
2012 Hannah Moon, Prince Albert SK 1,409
2011 David Granger, Bend OR 1,308
2010 Hannah Moon, Prince Albert SK 1,335
2009 Barry Harper, Regina BC 1,462
2008 Allan Graves, Victoria BC 1,421
2007 Cam Doner, Richmond BC 1,425
2006 Barry Harper, Regina SK 1,498
2005 Barry Harper, Regina SK 1,582
2004 Ian Boyd, Calgary AB 1,492
2003 Ken Gee, Regina, SK 1,568
2002 Ken Gee, Regina, SK 2,066
2001 Ken Gee, Regina, SK 1,606
2000 Ken Gee, Regina, SK 1,346
1999 Ken Gee, Regina, SK 1,028
1998 Ken Gee, Regina, SK 1,328
1997 Hans Jacob, Aurora, ON 1,145
1996 Martin Caley, Montréal, QC    772
1995 Ken Warren, Pickering, ON 1,056
1994 Martin Caley, Montréal, QC    791
1993 Cliff Campbell, Thunder Bay, ON    957
1992 Cliff Campbell, Thunder Bay, ON 1,561
1991 Cameron Doner, Vancouver, BC    944
1990 Robert Crawford, Vancouver, BC 1,399
1989 Gary Tomczyk, Parksville, BC 1,214
1988 Robert Crawford, Vancouver, BC 1,400
1987 Gary Tomczyk, Parksville, BC 1,071
1986 Cliff Campbell, Thunder Bay, ON    493
1985 Cliff Campbell, Thunder Bay, ON    552
1984 Mark Molson, Montreal, QC    679
1983 Mark Molson, Montreal, QC    784
1982 Mark Molson, Montreal, QC    689
1981 George Mittelman, Toronto, ON    681
1980 Mark Molson, Montréal, QC    599
1979 Mark Molson, Montréal, QC    819
1978 Bruce Ferguson, Calgary, AB    610
1977 Bruce Ferguson, New Westminster, BC    671
1976  Bruce Ferguson, New Westminster, BC    929
1975 Mike Schoenborn, Toronto, ON    524
1974 John Carruthers, Toronto, ON    522